Limoges Cup

This is a very very little porcelain cup…. about half the size of a demitasse for espresso! If anyone knows what a small version of an espresso cup might be used for, please let me know! In the meantime, it’s a beautiful cup, and I enjoyed putting it to good use by painting it!

I’ve used regular Gamblin oils on mylar. I used to use the Fastmattes but have stopped for two reasons. First they dry relatively matt, which I don’t enjoy in oils. Second, they are more toxic, due to the additives of alkyds. I’m trying to use natural media wherever possible, which means choosing paints which naturally contain less oil for the underpainting, and then linseed oil in later stages after that.

limoges-espresso

Limoges Tiny Cup, 2017. (Oil, 4 x 6)

Leave a Reply

